A Whole New World

Hey everyone! Hope everyone is having a great summer- someone please soak up some sun rays for me, since it’s winter here and today it’s pouring rain outside.  Oh wait- never mind, I don’t tan as it is. Haha! Anyway, I plan on writing a post a few times a week, depending on how much time I end up having and what I do throughout the week.

My flight down here was great- slept almost the entire way down except for my layover in Santiago before I got to Concepcion.  Total travel time (including the car ride down to Chicago) was about 21 hours.  I thought the flying part of 18 hours was bad until I was talking to a guy my age from Switzerland on the plane to Concepcion, and he had been flying for 30 hours. We were kind of a team for a bit, since the flight was maybe 30 minutes long and I couldn’t understand anything that flight attendants, pilots, and anything said over the intercom that was in Spanish and he could. He couldn’t read, write, or speak the language well, so we just kind of teamed up and helped each other.  Turns out that he has done lots of traveling, and comes here once a year for business stuff.  He also couldn’t believe that I had never been out of the U.S. before this trip, and hadn’t seen the Pacific Ocean or mountains before either, for that matter.  He honestly thought I was joking.  Too bad I couldn’t have taken a picture of his face, or it would probably be posted right now.  

My family here consists of Fabiola, who is the mother, and three sisters, and a nanny.  Yesterday, the nanny, along with Fabiola’s nephew and brother, met me at the airport.    

So far, all I can say is that it is DEFINITELY different here.  I don’t know about you guys, but I haven’t done a whole lot of traveling, so seeing the society here is more of a reality check than anything.  I’ll take some pictures eventually and post them, because I firmly believe that the pictures will do more justice than me trying to explain in words.   

Most of us take for granted that we have central heating, and all the technology that we personally own.  None of the kids in my family here have their own television sets, and the house does not have central heating.  My source of heat is an electric mattress that stays on all night. 

Oh, and by the way, some of us may be bad drivers, but here, it’ll be a miracle if I don’t get involved in some car or bus accident. It’s crazy.  I might have to take a video when I get a bus pass so I can share it with everyone. 

I plan on touring the University sometime either Monday or Tuesday, so then I can officially start my internship.  For those of you that don’t know, the woman of the house that I’m staying at is a journalist at the same station, so this will help when I need help understanding something (which will probably be often, since I can’t keep up with the normal rate of conversation here at all).  I went from having an “A” in my Spanish class from this past spring to feeling like I don’t understand the language at all.  I went to get a phone yesterday, and there’s no way I could have done it without the help of one of the family’s relatives. 

Ciao for now! Hopefully something exciting will happen soon.  Can’t wait to share this experience with everyone.  I’ll try and update my page as often as possible.    

 

Published by

krystalfrasier

A story teller that wants to voice concerns of those that speak English and Spanish. The world is an open book, and I want to explore it one page at a time!

Leave a Reply

