Something different everyday!

Well, I’ve finished my first full week of news, and I have a few highlights to share.  Monday I was at the airport for a conference with a former President, and is now running for President again.  The primary elections are this weekend, which I will be shadowing another reporter again on Sunday for election coverage.  I’m not sure where I’ll be in the city of Concepcion, but I’m sure it will be interesting no matter where I am!  Tuesday was a bit more low key, with a meeting at the mayor’s office about security for this weekend.  However, I was told by one of the news directors that I will be doing a story by myself this coming Monday!! I’ll be talking to other international students and their experiences here.  I have one interview set up, but I need to hear back from one more student.  After work, a few of us went out to eat in the port town of Lena.  It was dark, but I was able to see the waves of the Pacific Ocean for the very first time! 

Wednesday was interesting, with a story about a new highway that is being built and will be connecting cities to each other.  Wednesday was also the day of Anita’s birthday, so we went out to eat at a restaurant at the Plaza Peru, which is located right off of campus. On our way there, we walked through an area that had been the site of a strike earlier in the day, and my eyes started to sting.  Turns out there was some tear gas used as well, and that had been hours before!  But after we got to the restaurant, I decided that since I was feeling kind of homesick that day, I ordered a cheeseburger.  Let’s just say the beef here has a very different flavor than that of American beef.  It was okay in taste, but I’m sure that the breed of cattle here is different, so the meat will then taste differently.  It was dry, and didn’t have much flavor.  I tried adding some ketchup, but it didn’t add as much flavor as I had hoped it would.

Thursday was somewhat low key- one story opened up my eyes to reality in the world, but the other one wasn’t as interesting.  Part of the reason that there are strikes is the education that is offered in Chile.  Education isn’t free here, and at times the quality of education isn’t the best.  At a local school, there were desks and chairs thrown outside in the corners of the courtyard and in the middle of the entryway, along with entrances to stairwells. Everything was piled on top of each other- sometimes up to four desks high.  When we got there, the janitors and custodians were working on dragging everything back in the classrooms. I told Marcelo, the reporter I was following, that I had never seen anything like this before, and how crazy it all seemed.  It opened my eyes as to how different each country in the world is from another.

Friday was the last day for another intern, so we had a little party to send him off.  I’m going to miss Marcelo, he was able to translate for me and tell me what were Chilenismos and what weren’t.  (FYI, a Chilenismo is a word or phrase that is only used in the country of Chile; it’s part of their dialect.)  After that I went out with my friend Ale for some Chinese food.  Chinese food tastes the same here as it does in the U.S., thankfully!   

And here it is, Saturday.  Time for my one day weekend to start, and hopefully tomorrow there will be something awesome to report back to everyone.  Hope the heat isn’t too bad for everyone back home! Stay cool, and send some heat down here!          

Published by

krystalfrasier

A story teller that wants to voice concerns of those that speak English and Spanish. The world is an open book, and I want to explore it one page at a time!

Leave a Reply

